There was a problem loading the comments.

Universal SSL (CloudFlare) vs Paid SSL

Support Portal  »  Knowledgebase  »  Viewing Article



Universal SSL certificates are limited by:

  • the hostnames they cover, and
  • the client browsers they support.

Hostname coverage

Universal SSL certificates only support SSL for the root or first-level subdomains such as and To enable SSL support on second, third, and fourth level subdomains such as or, you need to purchase a paid SSL.

Browser support

Universal SSL uses Server Name Indication (SNI) certificates with Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA).  It is possible for Cloudflare Support to enable non-SNI support for domains on Pro, Business, or Enterprise plans for Universal, Dedicated, Custom, or Custom Hostname certificates.  SNI and ECDSA certificates work with the following modern browsers:

Desktop Browsers installed on Windows Vista or OS X 10.6 or later:

  • Internet Explorer 7
  • Firefox 2
  • Opera 8 (with TLS 1.1 enabled)
  • Google Chrome v5.0.342.0
  • Safari 2.1

Mobile Browsers:

  • Mobile Safari for iOS 4.0
  • Android 3.0 (Honeycomb) and later
  • Windows Phone 7

Getting Paid SSL Certificates

For paid SSL certificates, you may refer to

Share via
Did you find this article useful?  

Related Articles


Add Comment

Replying to  

© APC Hosting Pte Ltd